Secondary consists of Key Stage Three (Years 7 to 9), Key Stage Four (Years 10 and 11) and Key Stage Five (Sixth Form).

In Key Stage Three students continue with most of the subjects they have studied in Primary. Instead of a single class teacher, students are taught by subject specialists. The curriculum is closely based on the Cambridge International Curriculum. In Year 7 students can choose an additional modern language (French or German).

At the end of Year 9 students sit Cambridge Checkpoint exams in English, Science and Mathematics.

In Key Stage Four students prepare for the IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) examinations, which are taken at the end of Year 11. The following subjects are currently offered at IGCSE level:

  • English
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Coordinated Sciences, (Dual Award: Physics, Biology and Chemistry)
  • Spanish
  • Spanish as a Second Language
  • French as a Second Language
  • German as a Second Language
  • Global Perspectives
  • History
  • Music
  • Art & Design

IGCSE is a highly regarded qualification which is accredited by the University of Cambridge (

Throughout the Secondary School native Spanish students continue to follow the curriculum set by the Spanish Ministry of Education in Spanish Language, Literature and Social Sciences. Successful completion of these subjects in combination with at least four IGCSE exams with a grade of C or higher means that the student is awarded the Spanish “Título de Secundaria”.

Non-native students study Spanish as a Second Language.

Secondary students continue to develop their critical thinking and learn to take responsibility for their studies. There is a close relationship between students and teachers and we encourage students to form their own opinions and make their voice heard.